An Alternative Treatment Center or “ATC” means the permitted alternative treatment center authorized to grow and dispense registered qualifying patients with medicinal marijuana and related paraphernalia in accordance with the provisions of the Act.
At this time, the state is not accepting applications to open additional Alternative Treatment Centers.
What kind of inventory tracking system do I need to operate an Alternative Treatment Center?
Most states require dispensaries to track and trace all of their cannabis-related products for regulatory and compliance reporting requirements. Our Dispensary Point of Sale and inventory management system provides comprehensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking with a focus on compliant data points. If your state requires seed-to-sale systems to stay compliant, BioTrackTHC has you covered. Our system is customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each and every state.
A primary caregiver is a person who has agreed to assist with a registered qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana. Primary caregiver cannot be the patient’s physician. Primary caregiver must be a resident of New Jersey. The primary caregiver can never have been convicted of a felony drug offense. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older. The caregiver may only have one qualifying patient at any one time.
A caregiver can purchase medicinal marijuana from an ATC without the patient’s presence.
Caregivers are chosen by the certified patient; usually a friend or family member. Caregivers can be added at any time during registration and must go through the same process as patients to receive a card.
What are the qualifications for registering as a Caregiver?
- Be a New Jersey resident
- Be 18 years old or older
- Agree to assist a qualifying patient with the medical use of marijuana
- Is not currently serving as a primary caregiver for another qualifying patient
- Is not the patient’s physician
- Must submit to a criminal history/background check
What are the costs associated with a becoming a registered caregiver?
Caregiver Program Homepage
For a patient to receive medical marijuana, the law requires that a licensed health care practitioner certify that the patient has one or more of the qualifying conditions.
Estimated Patient Count: 12,514
What are the conditions that qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation?
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cancer (includes associated chronic pain and/or severe nausea)
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV/AIDS (includes associated chronic pain and/or severe nausea)
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Seizure and/or spasticity disorders
- Any terminal illness if a doctor has determined the patient will die within a year
How much marijuana can a patient possess?
- 2 ounces of useable marijuana
Can a minor get a recommendation for medical marijuana?
Patients under the age of 18 that suffer from an approved debilitating medical condition are considered minor patients and may register with the New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program (MMP). Minor patients are required to have a legal custodian assume responsibility as their caregiver until they are 18 years of age; at which time the patient will need to re-register as an adult. The patient’s approved MMP physician is required by the Department of Health to fill out a minor attestation. This requires written confirmation from a psychiatrist and from a physician trained in the care of pediatric patients.
What are the fees associated with a medical recommendation in New Jersey?
- Annual Registration Fee: $200