Before receiving medical cannabis, patients must register with the New Mexico Department of Health.
Current Estimated Patient Counts: 33,654 (February NMDOH Report)
How do I receive certification or referral for the Medical Cannabis Program in New Mexico?
In order to receive a certification or referral for the Medical Cannabis Program all the following criteria must be met:
- The patient has a medical condition that is listed under the qualifying medical conditions for the Medical Cannabis Program
- The patient’s medical condition is chronic and debilitating
- Standard medical treatments have failed to provide adequate relief for the patient
- The benefits of using medical cannabis outweigh the detrimental side effects
Does my condition qualify for Medical Cannabis in New Mexico?
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Cervical dystonia
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Hospice patients
- Huntington’s disease
- Intractable nausea/vomiting
- Multiple sclerosis
- Painful peripheral neuropathy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
- Spinal cord damage
Can a minor apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?
Yes. A minor can enroll in the Medical Cannabis Program as long as their parent is enrolled as the minor’s caregiver.
What is the possession limit for Qualified Patients in New Mexico?
Medical Cannabis Registration Fees for Patients
A primary caregiver is designated by patient’s practitioner as necessary to take responsibility for managing the well-being of a qualified patient with respect to the medical use of cannabis. Primary caregivers must be a resident of New Mexico. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older.
How do I register as a New Mexico Caregiver?
A patient who is registered with the program must first designate you as a caregiver during the patient registration process. Upon approval of the patient’s registration, the caregiver(s) may register. The patient will have access to instructions for caregiver registration. To register with the Department as a designated caregiver, you must be a resident of New York State and have a valid NYS Driver’s License or New York State Non-Driver ID card.with departmental approval.
How can I become a Primary Caregiver in New Mexico?
Individuals seeking to enroll as a personal caregiver for an existing patient(s), must complete the Medical Cannabis Caregiver Application and submit it with a copy of their New Mexico driver’s license or state identification card and background check.
Primary Caregiver Application
In New Mexico, cannabis cultivators operate are called Licensed Non-Profit Producers. They cultivate, process, and transport cannabis to dispensaries.
How can I open a Licensed Non-Profit Production site in New Mexico?
The LNPP application period is closed. NMDOH is not accepting applications from businesses interested in producing and distributing medical cannabis. Click here to review licensing requirements.
How many plants can an LNPP have in New Mexico?
Most LNPP’s are limited to 150 plants. However, some production sites have up to 450 providing they pay the additional fees.
- $10,000 Application Fee
- $30,000 Annual Licensing Fee for first 150 plants
- $10,000 for each additional 50 plants up to 450
Licensed Non-Profit Producer Requirements
New Mexico law allows qualified patients to grow up to 16 cannabis plants for personal use. Only 4 plants can be flowering, any remaining plants must be seedlings, clones, or non-flowering plants.
Can a PPL grow cannabis for other qualified patients?
No, it is illegal to distribute cannabis grown under PPL.
How long is a PPL valid?
What kind of tracking system do I need to operate a Cultivation Facility?
Most states require an extensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking system to monitor cultivation efforts and inventory. Our cultivation seed-to-sale-tracking solution provides comprehensive data tracking with an emphasis on compliance. Customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each state, BioTrackTHC also features an all-in-one business tool to help you operate every aspect of the cultivation business by itself, or as part of the vertically-integrated cannabis business.
Personal Production Licence Fees
- $30.00 annual fee (can be waived for individuals earning less than 200% of the Federal Poverty Line
Personal Production License Application