Grower (also commonly referred to as Producers or Cultivators) – Cultivators are responsible for growing cannabis. Mature plants are harvested and transferred to a Processor.
How many Medical Marijuana licenses are being awarded in North Dakota?
North Dakota’s medical marijuana program is setup with a vertically integrated cannabis business model. Compassion Centers (Dispensaries) are responsible for all aspects of the cannabis supply chain including cultivation, processing and retail dispensing. Please check the dispensary tab for more information. A certificate to manufacture cannabis will be made available depending on market interst.
How much will a license to manufacture marijuana cost?
- Non-refundable Application Fee: $5,000
- 2-year Operating Certificate: $110,000
What kind of tracking system do I need to operate a Cultivation Facility?
Most states require an extensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking system to monitor cultivation efforts and inventory. Our cultivation seed-to-sale-tracking solution provides comprehensive data tracking with an emphasis on compliance. Customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each state, BioTrackTHC also features an all-in-one business tool to help you operate every aspect of the cultivation business by itself, or as part of the vertically-integrated cannabis business.
Dispensaries sell legal cannabis, and cannabis products, to responsible adults in compliance with local regulations. In North Dakota, dispensaries are referred to as Compassion Centers.
How can I obtain a North Dakota Compassion Center License?
Applications and application windows are yet to be released by the state. They will be released by the Department of Health, at which point information here will be updated.
North Dakota Compassion Centers
North Dakota is pursuing a vertically integrated cannabis business model. Licensed operators will be responsible for the cultivation, processing and manufacturing, transportation and retail dispensing of medical marijuana. Fees related to operating are to be determined by the state. Here’s what we know:
- Pesticides are not allowed to be used in the cultivation of medical marijuana
- Compassion Centers must not be within 1000 ft. of a school
- Monthly inventory audits and tracking systems will be required
- Compassion Centers can dispense up to 3 ounces of usable marijuana to a qualifying patient
How much will a license to dispense marijuana cost?
- Non-refundable Application Fee: $5,000
- 2-year Operating Certificate: $90,000
Cultivating Medical Marijuana
Compassion Centers shall:
- Be subject to random inspection of confidential records, including financial and dispensing records
- Possess no more than one thousand (1,000) marijuana places irrespective of the stages of growth
- Possess no more than three thousand five hundred (3,500)
- May not purchase usable marijuana or mature marijuana plants from any person other than another registered compassion center
For detailed information, check out the Compassionate Care Act.
What kind of point-of-sale do I need to operate a Compassion Center?
Most states require dispensaries to track and trace all of their cannabis-related products for regulatory and compliance reporting requirements. Our Dispensary Point of Sale and inventory management system provides comprehensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking with a focus on compliant data points. If your state requires seed-to-sale systems to stay compliant, BioTrackTHC has you covered. Our system is customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each and every state.
Processors – Processors take harvested cannabis from Cultivators and create derivative extracts for edibles, concentrates, topicals, and prepacks. Finished products are transported to Dispensaries.
How can I obtain a Cannabis Processor License in North Dakota?
The Compassionate Care Act does not address cannabis processing and manufacturing and the law specifically outlines the use of smokable medical marijuana, but does not provide any clarity on edibles, extracts, and other marijuana byproducts.
What kind of tracking system do I need to operate a Processing or Manufacturing Facility?
Most states require an extensive seed-to-sale cannabis tracking system to monitor processing and manufacturing efforts, which is especially important in this part of the supply chain due to conversions into multiple byproducts and higher amounts of waste. Our processing seed-to-sale-tracking solution provides comprehensive conversion tracking focused on compliant data points. Customized to meet the unique regulatory frameworks in each state, BioTrackTHC also features an all-in-one business tool to help you operate every aspect of the cultivation business by itself, or as part of the vertically-integrated cannabis business.
Caregivers grow and process cannabis on behalf of patients. They cannot charge for cannabis, only recoup the costs of goods.
Current Estimated Patient Counts: Approximately 3,700 – The Department of Health was quoted saying, “5 out of every 1000 North Dakotans will use Medical Marijuana.”
How can I obtain a North Dakota Medical Marijuana Card?
The state is yet to establish a system for screening and awarding patients with medical marijuana cards. Once a system is in place, we’ll update the info here. Below you can find all the info you’ll need in order to apply.
If a patient does not live within 40 miles of the nearest compassionate care center, they may cultivate up to 8 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.
Patients may receive a recommendation from their physician to use medical marijuana if they have one of the qualifying conditions listed below and the physician finds that no other form of the drug, such as a low-extract THC, would help. You will need to provide the following information in your medical marijuana application.
Interested applicants must receive written certification from your physician, supporting application documents, and a non-refundable application fee that is yet to be determined. The original written certification verifying patient eligibility shall contain the following:
- Name address and phone number of your physician
- Physician’s clinical licensure
- Patient applicant’s name and date of birth
- Medical justification for the physician’s certification of the patient’s debilitating medical condition
- Physician’s signature and date
- Name, address, and date of birth of the applicant
- Name, address, and date of birth of the applicant’s primary caregiver (if any)
- A reasonable copy of the applicant’s North Dakota Driver’s License or government-issued ID
- Length of time the patient has been under the physician’s care
- Applicant’s or guardian’s signature and date
- Signed consent for release of medical information related to the patient’s debilitating medical condition
Does my medical condition qualify for a Medical Marijuana recommendation in North Dakota?
Debilitating medical conditions, which qualify for medical marijuana are as follows:
- Cancer and its treatments
- Positive status for immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Decompensated cirrhosis (Hepatitis C)
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, or the treatment of these conditions
- Crohn’s disease or Fibromyalgia
- Spinal stenosis or chronic back pain including neuropathy or damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures for over 3 months or which other treatment options produced serious side effects
- Intractable Nausea
- Severe or Persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- Any other medical condition or its treatment added by the North Dakota Department of Health
How do I become a designated Caregiver in North Dakota?
Designated caregivers must meet the following requirements:
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Must agree to assist with a patient’s medical use of marijuana
- Have not been convicted of a felony offense
- Assists no more the five (5) qualifying patients with their medical use of marijuana
For detailed info on North Dakota’s Compassionate Care Act, click here.